Leaving Workflow

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  Using Workflow >

Leaving Workflow

When a script is no longer in your system (e.g., if it was deleted or picked up by the patient) it should be removed from Workflow. To remove scripts from Workflow, create a stage like the one described below.

 

1.Click on the System menu item.

2.Select Workflow Setup. The Workflow Setup screen will open.

3.Click on the New Stage button.

4.Enter a Name for the stage (e.g., "Leave Workflow"). You can also enter a Description.

5.In the Workflow field, search for your pharmacy's Workflow system.

6.In the Type field, click on the drop-down arrow and select "Automatic."

7.For Automatic stages, the Sequence field determines what order the user will enter each stage. You may want to enter a low sequence number for the Leave Workflow stage so that, if the requirements for leaving Workflow are met (e.g., if the script is deleted), the script will be removed from Workflow before it is sent to any other stages.

 

If you set the sequence to "0" then, when the requirements for leaving Workflow are met, the script will be removed from Workflow before it is sent to any other stage. If there are other stages that should be completed for any script before it is allowed to leave Workflow, give those stages a lower sequence number than your Leave Workflow stage.

 

8.Click on the Save button.

9.Click on the Requirements tab.

10.Click Add New.

11.In the Entry Requirement field, click on the drop-down arrow and select a requirement (e.g. "Delete Fill").

12.Enter a non-zero Grouping number for this requirement. (This will need to be different than the other requirements in this stage. We will discuss this further below.) Do not enter "0" for the Grouping number.

 

Grouping numbers determine how requirements are grouped together. If two requirements have the same Grouping number, they will be "and" requirements. This means BOTH requirements must be met before a script enters the stage. If each requirement has a unique number, they will be "or" requirements (only one or the other is required).

 

13.Click Save.

 

You will need to enter requirements for the following scenarios:

a."Delete Fill"

b."Script Pickup"

c."Rx Discontinued"

d."Refill Request Denied"

e."Return to Stock"

Each of these requirements will need a distinct Grouping number. (This will mean that if any of these requirements are met, the script will be removed from Workflow.)

 

You will also need to add requirements for:

f."Hold Script (status)"

g."Print Label"

These requirements must have the SAME Grouping number. (This will mean that when a script is put on Hold, it will leave Workflow after the label has been printed. Both requirements must be met before the script will be taken out of Workflow.)

 

Do not enter "0" for any of the requirements' Grouping numbers.

 

14.Next, click on the Tasks tab.

15.Click Add New.

16.In the Task field, click on the drop-down arrow and select "Leave Workflow."

17.Click Save.

 

If any of the above requirements are met, a script will automatically be removed from the Workflow process.

 

See Also

Workflow Setup

Using Workflow