Patient Merge

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  Tools >

Patient Merge

Sometimes you might find that two acounts have been entered for the same patient. For example, if a patient was added through a demographic interface and another record was added manually, you may have two nearly identical records in your system. To combine these two accounts into one, go to the Patient Merge screen.

 

Topics

How Do I Merge Two Patients?

How Do I Search for Potential Duplicate Records?

What Happens to the Original Patient Record?

 

 

How Do I Merge Two Patients?

1.Click on the Tools menu item.

2.Select Patient Merge. The Merge screen will open with fields to select a "From" and "To" patient.

 

You can also click on the Load Suggestions button to view a list of potential duplicate records. This will be discussed further below.

 

3.In the From Patient field, you can search for the patient record that is being merged with another account. This is the account that will be marked as "Inactive" after the merge is complete. Start typing to begin a search for the correct patient account.

4.In the To Patient field, choose the record that the original record is being merged into. The information in this account will be saved and any missing information that is found in the "From" patient record will be added to this one.

 

Note: If you are choosing a "From" and "To" patient and realize that you have them reversed, you can click on the Swap Patients button.

 

 

The patients must have matching first and last names in order to be merged. This will prevent users from accidentally merging the wrong accounts. If the names are not identical, you can click on the Edit button on the patient's record to make any needed adjustments.

 

5.When you have selected both records, click on the Merge Patients button.

6.The results of the merge will be displayed.

 

 

How Do I Search for Potential Duplicate Records?

To view a list of patient records that have matching information, follow the instructions below.

 

1.In the Patient Merge screen, click on the Load Suggestions button.

2.A list of records will be shown in the "Potential Duplicates" section.

 

This list will include any patients that have one or more of the following pieces of information in common with another patient in your records:

 

oFirst Name, Last Name, and Date of Birth — Patients must have all three in common with identical spelling (capitalization is ignored)

oAccount Number

oID Number

oSocial Security Number

 

3.You can click on one of the patients in this list. (This will be the "From" patient — the account that will be marked as "Inactive" after the merge is complete.)

4.Any patients that have matching information with the record you selected will appear in the "Merge Suggestions" section. Click on the correct patient in the "Merge Suggestions" list. (This will be the "To" patient that the first patient's information will be merged into.)

 

Only patients that have matching first and last names can be merged. You may find duplicate records where the names are not a match but one of the identification numbers are. In this case, you will need to click on the Edit button to make changes to the patient's information. If you edit the patients so that their names match, you will be able to merge the two records.

 

5.When you have selected both records, click on the Merge Patients button.

6.The results of the merge will be displayed.

 

 

What Happens to the Original Patient Record?

The account that you choose in the From Patient field will be marked as "Inactive." You cannot fill scripts for Inactive patients. However, the patient will still appear in searches (although the record will be clearly marked as Inactive.)

 

The original patient's information will be stored in the "To" patient's account.

 

See Also

Patient Maintenance